“Oh, I’m Just in a Dry Season…”

Is God ever distant with us? Most of us eager Bible seekers can answer that with a sufficient, “No.” The Bible is laced with verses that speak of God’s continual care, such as He “is with you always, even to the ends of age” (Matthew 28:20, NIV), that “He will never leave you, nor forsake you” (Deuteronomy 31:6, NIV) and that He “does not change” (Malachi 3:6, NIV). Yet sometimes – for me a solid chunk of time- our feelings are fickle, and we as imperfect humans can too often rely on our emotions to gauge our relationship with God.   May I be so bold to write that this relationship with a stable, constant God should not be based on the dramatic highs and lows of emotions? Because for me, if it’s based on my mental state I won’t be able to fully trust the relationship.

Let me explain.

I have made stupid (for lack of better words) choices based on my sentiments. I’ve quit jobs hastily, I have made critical comments to people I love and I’ve handed in essays more than two weeks late – all on the basis of my feelings. In those moments, and in my self-righteousness, I thought I was justified. Yet, in retrospect I caused harm because I acted out in how I felt at the time. That’s why I don’t always trust my feelings. I consider them valid, but I don’t hold confidence in them.

Therefor, we may feel that God may be distant, but is He? We may sense tension that may seem like separation, but my sweet friends He is still there. What is required of us is to continue seeking Him, regardless of how our current mood may be. And we can do that by going to Him with our gnawing fears, ridiculed doubts and perplexing questions about this period for lives. That’s what an intimate relationship is about – commitment regardless of how we may feel.

Standard

Leave a Reply

